Fun Days Childminding Service

Andrea's Childminding Service Blackpool


What is EYFS?

In September 2008 the new Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework become statutory for all early years care and education providers in Ofsted registered settings, attended by children from birth to five years of age. It is the framework that replaces the three previous early years documents – Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage, Birth to Three Matters and National Standards for Under 8s Daycare and Childminding. These are, in effect, now streamlined into one  package with common principles that everybody involved in early years will be working towards: 

there have been changes to the EYFS and there may be more changes for September 2015...

Every Child Matters

Every Child Matters is the government agenda which focuses on bringing together services to support children and families. It sets out five major outcomes for children:

  • being healthy;
  • staying safe;
  • enjoying and achieving;
  • making a positive contribution;
  • economic well-being.

Each Principle into Practice card highlights a link to one of the five Every Child Matters outcomes. Using the EYFS effectively will enable settings to support children in meeting the outcomes. For further information visit Link to an external



The EYFS is made up of six areas of learning and development

1. (PSED)      Personal, Social and Emotional development

2. (CL)          Communication, Language

3. (L)            Literacy

4. (Maths)     Maths

5. (UTW)      Understanding the World

6. (PD)          Physical development

7. (EAD)      Expressive art and design



There are 5 Welfare Requirements

1. Safeguarding and promoting children’s welfare

2. Suitable person

3. Suitable premises, environment and equipment

4. Organisation

5. Documentation


For each Welfare requirement there are:

General requirements

Specific requirements

Statutory Guidance to which providers should have regard (Further information is provided in the Practice guidance)